Little Blog 1

My journalism class this quarter has me writing short (200-250 word) blog entries for writing practice. I’ll be posting them here as Little Blogs.

Little Blog 1: Back Home-ish

It’s weird to be back living in America. I spent the past semester living abroad in Utrecht, the fourth-biggest city in the Netherlands. From late July to late December, pretty much everything felt strange all the time. Now,  back at in Davis, normal things feel strange. I know all the social rules. People recognize me and know my name–I have friends who I can just bump into on campus, and people who know me. I don’t have to pretend to understand Dutch. Now, I realize how strange moments in my life might seem to a Dutch friend. No one drinks beer with lunch here; in fact, you can’t openly drink alcohol on campus, or smoke. In Utrecht, students used class breaks to roll their own cigarettes just outside the academic buildings. Our tiny campus, the honors college of the older and larger Utrecht University, had a student bar that was open every night and manned by student bartenders pouring lousy 1 euro Dutch beer and shot specials for 1e50. We didn’t even have a library.

2 thoughts on “Little Blog 1

Leave a Reply

